Rabbit Stew by Robin Marchal

Rabbit Stew.

Slightly pink and slightly white

Tender to taste, in texture light,

I’m moved to the greens of our Uni acres

Where bunny white tails, pert creators,

Scurry right and left and straight ahead

To their burrows and safety and then to bed.

These are the images that come to view

As I gaze deeply into my rabbit stew!

 

There’s leak white sauce across the plate

As through morsels of flesh I prod at fate,

When memory map takes me back once more

To the ‘urban myths’ of our Uni floor.

For under the towers the unstable threat

Of bunny burrows weaving the Uni’s debt.

These are the images that come to view

As I gaze deeply into my rabbit stew!

 

Tiny black shot comes with old jugged hare

But this pink white tenderness has no share.

Yet there’s myth of the food poor student who

From tower and library shot them through.

How, then, is my little bunny dispatched,

Is he cage produced, methodically hatched?

These are the images that come to view

As I gaze deeply into my rabbit stew!

 

Mates sitting across the old pub table

Have with their steaks and fish been able

To stuff their guts to their hearts content;

I look at my bunny, should I relent?

Back on our campus they’ve had their fun

A mag named after ‘em, free acres to run.

These are the images that come to view

As I dig deeply into my rabbit stew!

My thanks to Dr. Adrian May for the references to the Urban Myths of the University of Essex

This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

